Greenehouse in Farmington’s Spring Newsletter!

Just received Linda Greene’s spring newsletter and wanted to share it with you here in case you aren’t on her mailing list yet. She always has great finds. I bought a blue moon wisteria from her last year that I am hoping made it through the winter. It’s zone 4 so a bit iffy for our zone 2b or not 2b but I piled on the hay mulch and have my fingers crossed!

Blue Moon Wisteria. Photo from Park Seeds.

Blue Moon Wisteria. Photo from Park Seeds.

For those who don’t know Linda, she has a greenhouse in Farmington aptly named The Greenehouse in Farmington! Head north from Dawson Creek up the Alaska Highway and watch for the sign on the right hand side. It’s between the Farmington Golf Course and The Farmington Store. She also frequents both the Dawson Creek and Chetwynd Farmer Markets.

Now here is Linda’s Spring Newsletter!

My yard is still mostly covered with mounds of snow, and wet spots that alternate between ice (ie. Yesterday and today) and puddles (a couple days last week). However, the greenhouse (with furnace running constantly) IS full of hanging baskets and bedding plants. And I saw one robin this afternoon. So…it’s coming (spring that is, as well as Christmas, I guess!)

I have the usual assortment of hanging baskets this year with some lovely new petunia colours, and lots of basket stuffers to do your own landscaping. Ina and I really like one called Blue Jays – and the Sophistica Blackberry is lovely. Lots of waves and supertunias will be available, Tumbler tomatoes as well as 5 or 6 other tomato varieties, bacopa, lobelia, lobularia (this is the sterile alyssum which doesn’t set seed so it blooms all summer without deadheading – great filler plant and very fragrant – comes in 3 colours), strawberry baskets, etc etc. I’ll have a bit of giftware again – including some beautiful solar lights. I like to try to find a few things that you won’t get anywhere else. Great for gift giving, or yourself! I also have 5 varieties of seed potatoes, and if you like the fingerlings, I have banana potato seed from my own garden. Trees and shrubs will arrive approximately May 10th and I have lots of Haskap coming, as well as a few lilacs and flowering shrubs. I don’t order a big variety so if there is something you want, come early or call and see what I have.

I formally open the weekend of May 3rd and 4th, with our open house and annual yard sale – Saturday 9 am to 5 pm, Sunday 10 am to 4 pm. I go to the Dawson Creek Farmers Market on Saturdays starting May 10th, and the Chetwynd Farmers Market (which I believe is now on Fridays starting around the May long weekend). Always good to phone first, but when the gate is open, I’m open. I’ll also be at the Farmington Farmerettes Annual Mother’s Day tea on Saturday afternoon, May 10th.

Email (lgreene@xplornet.com) or call me if there is something in particular you are looking for. If you have a greenhouse started and are looking for bedding plants, I’m happy to provide them now – my greenhouse (and all other available spots) are FULL! Give me a call 250-784-5320 and hope to see you soon!

HAPPY GARDENING
Linda

3 Comments on Greenehouse in Farmington’s Spring Newsletter!

  1. Cheri McKenzie // April 19, 2014 at 11:28 am // Reply

    This definitely makes me feel like visiting a greenhouse soon. If I lived closer to Farmington, I’d be there.

  2. Missing your posts. Hope you and yours are well

Leave a Reply

