Fuzzy Snow

Tree fluff piling up in the garden. From a distance it looked just like frost!

Tree fluff piling up in the garden. From a distance it looked just like frost!

Here you can see the fluff all through a bed of perennials...it's everywhere!

Here you can see the fluff all through a bed of perennials…it’s everywhere!

For the last couple days it’s been snowing fuzz…tree fuzz that is. In the morning it looked like frost was covering the garden so it was a relief to discover it was just white tree fluff. At first I thought it was dandelion fluff (well at first I thought it was frost THEN I thought it was dandelion fluff) and since I was getting ready to weed, such a thick covering of dandelion seeds falling on my garden was a discouraging sight to say the least!

I suppose a gazillion cottonwood seedlings sprouting in the garden isn’t exactly encouraging either. I appreciate how all plant life is important to our planet and am happy to let nature have its way with well over 59 acres of our 60 acre property…the one small acre I garden on is where I get selective in my plant choices.

Several miles from our place in the community of Rolla they are experiencing trees failing to leaf out or only putting out a handful of leaves per tree. It seems like it’s the aspens that are most affected. Maybe our incredible amount of fluff and their strangely affected trees are nature’s way of balancing something out. I have read how trees communicate with each other in ways we are only beginning to understand. It’s all very worrisome. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how it all turns out and what the experts have to say about it.

Have you heard anything? Do you know anything about this? If so, please share!

Leave a Reply

