Up Close and Personal

Mmmm...tastes like potato chips

As I was heading out the door to do chores this morning I almost got a faceful of moose! The two headed moose has returned but this time instead of munching on the ornamentals they’re apparently licking the salt off my tires. Reminds me of a story I read years ago about life in the Yukon where a couple had to remove their tires and take them indoors or the moose would chew them to shreds. I think I’ll just put out a salt block instead! I recently talked to a wonderful gardener in Ontario who used the same sort of tactic to deal with a rabbit who was nibbling on everything in sight. Instead of going all Mr. McGregor on the bunny she started setting out rabbit pellets and cabbage leaves instead. The plan worked. The rabbit stopped eating all the perennials, vegetables and shrubs and she had a new friend. She was eventually even able to pet the rabbit. You can read more about Kim Jones, the rabbit she nicknamed Bud and her fabulous garden in the April issue of Gardens Central.

As for me I’m off to buy some salt blocks.

Leave a Reply

